Taher Saif wins Koiter Medal

Taher Saif has been named the 2018 recipient of the Warner T. Koiter Medal, granted by ASME in recognition of distinguished contributions to the field of solid mechanics. He is the first winner of this award from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Pradeep Sharma, the Chair of ASME’s AMD Executive Committee noted, “Professor Saif receives the Koiter Medal for employing principles of mechanics to explore phenomena at small scale providing the first evidence of plastic strain recovery in nanograined metals, and neuronal tension and its influence on neurotransmission; as well as providing leadership in promoting mechanics research in frontier areas.”

Leave a Reply